35

Saturday was my birthday. Not a big one, but one that could be considered a milestone of sorts. I’ve now reached the half-way point of my ‘three score years and ten’.

It is fair to say that my life is not where I thought it would be by now. Rather than dwelling on what has come before, one can only decide how to shape that which is still to come.

And so I decided I’d start crossing things off the ‘things I want to do in London’ list.

I started in Notting Hill, with one of these. As the weathermen had predicted, it was an overcast start to the day. However, the walk was excellent, I found out where Kylie likes to breakfast, and where many of the scenes in the film were shot.

Next, to the creative part of the day. Knitting, with friends, in the Park.

This was the point in the day when I really truly hoped the weathermen were right.

And then, as if by magic – the sun appeared!

We had knitting (a new year, a new project), and chatting,

And the most fantastic biscuits sent by my sister from here

And some really lovely (and very unexpected) gifts.

It turned out to be a fantastic afternoon – and we really didn’t want to have to leave. The sun was beautifully warm, the park was lovely and relaxing, and the company was excellent. I think knitting in the park may become a regular feature in my future birthdays.

Oh, and before I forget. I bought myself a gift too – from the Oxfam bookshop in Notting Hill. Don’t you just love it? In fairness, I’m not planning to knit any of the designs from it, but the instructions are so clear and well illustrated, I think it will become a well loved addition to the bookshelf!

About cherrybelle

I'm a 30-something fabric & yarn obsessed female, living in London. Aside from fabric and yarn (and spreadsheets) I like to spend my time making the most of life in London.
This entry was posted in General, Knitting, London. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

